Hajj is fifth pillar of Islam and a mandatory duty for Muslims to perform atleast once in their life. Hajj formally starts on 8th of Zul-Hijjah but mostly pilgrims go to Makkah and Madina before 8th   of Zul-Hijjah to perform Ummrah.

1. Mina

mina arafat

Mina is a city of tents where pilgrims arrive on 8th of Zul-hijjah. 8th Zul-Hijjah is first day of Hajj during which staying arrangements are set in Mina because our beloved Prophet Muhammad (P.B.U.H) resided there. Since then, same preaching is followed every year on 8th of Zul-Hijjah by pilgrims.

2. Mount Arafat

Mina & Arafat

On 9th of Zul-Hijjah, pilgrims visit mount Arafat, Hajj is not completed without going to Arafat therefore it is obligatory for everyone to visit this place during Hajj. Pilgrims gather for Khutbah which is delivered on Namira Mosque. After Khutbah, they offer Zuhr and Asr prayer together and then spend all day praying and remembering Allah SWT

3. Muzdalifah


The stay at Muzdalifah is preceded by a day at Arafat. Here, Magrib and Isha prayers are offered together. Pilgrims spent a night and sleep on a bare desert floor. On 10th of Zul-Hijjah pilgrims head are shaved and sacrifice is made.

4. Jamarat


It is a place where there are three stone pillars called ‘Jamarat-al-Ula’, ‘Jamarat-al-Wusta’and ‘Jamarat-al-Aqaba’. Visiting Jamarat is one of the compulsory rituals performed in the call of Hazrat Ibrahim (A.S). It is a place where Shaitan (Satan) was pelted by Hazrat Ibrahim (A.S) with stones when he tried to divert him from sacrificing Hazrat Ismail (A.S).